Peer Feedback

In Thursday’s class we were asked to bring in 6 initial design plans of our wall/window covering along with pictures of our artist models and drawings and models that we created in relation to our artist model. We also wrote up a summary of our work in relation to our artist models design research. As a class we were asked to individually go around and assessed each others work with written feedback about comparing each persons written intent in relation to their initial designs. The aim was to see whether or not the designs of each work were related to the aim of the artist models approach. This exercise was extremely helpful for me as I was able to see what my peers thought about my work and if they could see a resemblance of my designs within my artist model Dale Frank from another perspective than my own. I was glad to read that a lot of people thought my written intent was relative to my pattern designs and I got a lot of constructive feedback that enables me to move forward with my designs and improve to create a final outcome of a wall covering. Within my feedback sheets I found a variety of strengths, improvements and suggestions that people wrote which are…

Strengths:                                                                                                                                                – Relative to the ideas I have stated that I am exploring and to my artist model. – Plays with texture that Dale uses the most. – Shows repetition but also breathing room to expand out into a 3D textured design. – “The pattern makes you look at certain points in the design, it moves your eye from one place to another, as if you were reading the design.” – Looking at texture with paint, as paint isn’t always 2D

Improvements:                                                                                                                                       – Scale of the wallpaper in relation to the location. – Make more lucid patterns. “Dale Franks work doesn’t scream patterns as much as iterations would suggest.” – More information on the artist model an the colour pallet I have chosen – Be more specific about “techniques and colour” – More colour in the blue patterns, as the other ones explore colour collaboration, explore with more white spaces.

From reading this feedback on my work I am able to take it in and re-access my designs and adjust them to become better than my original design plans. I also have some good feedback on what I should include in my written intent for my wall covering so I am able to go back and re write it with the help from my peers, so that my work can all come together for crit week.

 

Leave a comment