Model Testing With Colour

Using my photographs of my model I’ve tested different colours for different rooms and how they would all flow together in the apartment. I created some new paintings with specific colours for each room, blue for the lounge/ dining area as the colour blue is considered calming and relaxing, and by looking at this colour on my model I think it is best suited for this room as it doesn’t feel too intense as I used a lot of white within the painting also, to make the space a bit more spacious and not feel overcrowded. For the bedroom I wanted to see how lilac/purple would look, as lighter shades of purple such as lilac give the same relaxing feeling as blue, although this colour feels warmer than blue does which suits the bedroom perfectly as it is a resting space where you feel comfortable and warm.

I decided with yellow for the studio space because yellow brings joy and happiness and is also and energetic colour, and for the person (designer) using the studio space to paint or be creative it will enhance their happiness as they are doing what they love in a joyful space. For the bathroom I wanted to create a deep blue because it is a wet room and I want it to imitate water/sea. I also wanted it to enhance a relaxing feel for the designer as well while they have a bath or take a shower. Looking at my model testing with colour  I can see how the apartment can be intense with having lots of colour covering most the walls and floors, but my artist model Dale Franks work is also quite intense and colourful, and I want they apartment to be a space inspired by Franks works and I feel this concept of the apartment relates to him well.

Leave a comment