Week 1 – Colour Blocking

We analysed the cities buildings and colour that surrounds the AUT grounds, and from our images that we collected we created a collage that expressed our own perception of the cities colours. The image below is my collage of what I created through photographs I captured. I wanted to enhance the colours and textures that stood out to me and form them in a way that they explode out of the grey/neutral colours that the majority of buildings were, as if the colour was trying to break through the dullness on the city.

collage

 

Below are a few of my images I captured while walking around the AUT city site. I wanted to capture the colours that stood out to me the most as well as the grey and neutral tones to comparise the different colours to each other. I was interested mostly in the different textures and patterns around the site like the different colours in the rock wall for example. From these images I created the collage above which captures the textures, patterns and colours in comparison to the greys and whites that most building are made from.

 

Leave a comment